Translate

Currently Reading

Currently Reading
Oblivion by Kelly Creagh

Covermance!

Covermance!
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Trailers

Favorite Books

Release
Elixir
Deity
Shade
Greta and the Goblin King
The Innocents
Stalk me.
Poison Princess
The Gathering Darkness
Rua
Rise
Luminosity
Prodigy
Legend
Beautiful Redemption
Timeless
Shift
Crewel
Aversion
Exiled

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Annabelle Marie Veronica has read 11 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Support this Blog

The Printed Word

read the printed word!
© 2011-2013 by Annabelle Lovell. All rights reserved. Powered by Blogger.

Member of…

7DSbloggers The Army of TEN v mafia badge Photobucket Join Razorbill! BlogWithIntegrity.com

I'm on Team...

Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare Covenant by Jennifer L. Armentrout Unearthly by Cynthia HandUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi Nightshade by Andrea Cremer The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Wings by Aprilynne Pike Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith Need by Carrie Jones Firelight by Sophie Jordon Matched by Ally Condie Slide by Jill Hathaway Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa

Blogoversary!

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Hit Counter

Giveaways: There are no current giveaways. Please check back soon!
Tuesday, April 9, 2013
The Ward
Jordana Frankel
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: April 30, 2013
Source: Publisher
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository
Sixteen-year-old Ren is a daredevil mobile racer who will risk everything to survive in the Ward, what remains of a water-logged Manhattan. To save her sister, who is suffering from a deadly illness thought to be caused by years of pollution, Ren accepts a secret mission from the government: to search for a freshwater source in the Ward, with the hope of it leading to a cure.
However, she never expects that her search will lead to dangerous encounters with a passionate young scientist; a web of deceit and lies; and an earth-shattering mystery that’s lurking deep beneath the water’s rippling surface.
Jordana Frankel’s ambitious debut novel and the first in a two-book series, The Ward is arresting, cinematic, and thrilling—perfect for fans of Scott Westerfeld or Ann Aguirre.



CATCHALL
I'd honestly barely heard anything about The Ward when I first received it, but it didn't take me very long to fall in love with the idea. And I definitely wasn't disappointed! The Ward certainly was not a perfect book, but it definitely had all the elements of a thriller that I adore. It brings new things to the table, and although at times it felt oddly cheesy or stereotypical, this didn't keep me from loving it immensely and rushing through it at breakneck speed.

THE HEROINE
REN
I still think Ren is a guy name, but whatever. I guess I can over look that. She's a really strong and she really has a presence. At the same time, she's also very vulnerable but she hates to show it. She doesn't let anyone stand in her way, and she'll do anything to protect her sister, even if it goes against something she believes in. She's fiercely loyal. She also doesn't give her trust away easily at times, and at others she might be too willing to trust. She's a very flawed character, but also very real.

THE LOVE INTEREST
CALLUM
Callum is a mysterious character from the beginning, and it's really difficult to know what side he's on. Does he want to help Ren? Is her only looking out for himself? For the longest time, it's difficult to say. Still, it's obvious that he cares about Ren. He really does go out of his way for her, and although he doesn't always make the best choices I think he does try to do what's right. He has a lot of appeal, and he's not the most conventional character but definitely a very interesting one. I absolutely adore him.
DEREK
Derek turned out to be way more complex than I first expected. As it turns out, even he is hiding something. One thing I never doubted, though, was how much he cared about Ren. He's really very sweet in his own way. He has definitely made a lot of bad choices, but I think he really tries to make up for him, he just doesn't entirely know how. He definitely still has a lot of issues to sort out but I do love him, so I'm hoping for the best for him.

THE PLOT
The Ward is action-packed. Fast-paced. Honestly, it could really qualify as a thriller in a lot of ways.

Ren works for the hated government to get money she needs for her adopted sister's medicine. Then she runs into a mysterious young agent, saying he has some intel for her, and with the choice she makes because of that changes everything for her. Suddenly, the stakes are so much higher, and what Ren could lose becomes so much more precious. She doesn't know where to turn, who she can trust.

I loved the action-oriented plot. There was always something dangerous or thrilling or deliciously romantic going on, and I couldn't get enough of it. I literally could not put this book down because I needed to know what was going to happen next. So many times it took turns I didn't expect, and while I could often piece things together for myself I never got bored.

The world building was bait weak. I love Ren's world, but I wish it had been described better. A lot of the natural-type things that happened were just kind of put out there and never explained, which was just really frustrating. There were some things that I just could not accept at face value. The city itself isn't described in as much detail as I would have liked either.

Moreover, there are a ton of inconsistencies in this book. I really can't go into specifics without being spoilery, but believe me, there are. I remember that while I was reading it I took notes on them but eventually just gave up because there were so damn many. Hopefully at least some of them will be corrected in the final version.

There's a lot to love about this books, its fault being as they are. I loved this book. There was no way I could not love this book.

THE ROMANCE
Callum. Derek. Callum. Derek. I am torn. I am so, so torn. I cannot remember being this torn up about a love triangle since like, well, ever. I usually don't have a difficult time choosing a team, but I just can't. I love them both so much, and choosing one of them just seems wrong. Can't she just end up with both of them? And lest you think I m joking, I am not. Anyway, there was no instalove, which was awesome. It's beautifully arranged triangle, and I loved the dynamic between all three of them. There's a large lack of trust, which makes the romance difficult, but there's also an undeniable connection that's difficult to break.

THE WRITING
I always try to cut a bit of slack on debut novels, and this one is no exception. The writing is gorgeous, but Ren's voice is immature and difficult to relate to at times. The language also has a tendency to be way simplistic and actually hard to read because of that. The description always felt kind of off, and it just didn't seem to come across right. However, I also appreciate the personality in Ren's voice.

THE ENDING
The ending was really, really good. It's also a really, really torturous cliffhanger. I was left breathless, needing to know what was going to happen next. But alas, no such luck in finding out until the next book. The pacing felt a bit off near the end and everything felt a bit oddly rushed, but other than that I think it was very skillfully pieced together. It's not entirely unexpected, but it also wasn't annoyingly predictable, so I'm happy.

WRAPUP
I loved The Ward, despite its faults. It's the first in a duology, and you can bet I'll be picking up the next book eagerly. I can't wait! Something this action-packed and fantastic is sure to have an even more amazing second book. As to would I recommend this? Yes, yes, yes!! You're going to have to deal with some annoying inconsistencies, but if you can put up with them I really suggest you give this a shot.





****FINAL RATING: 3.60 RED ROSES****

Lovelovelove,


4 comments:

  1. Ohh I'm so with you! I really loved Derek, and I LURRVVEEEDD Ren so much she was so strong and independent! I also agree about the plot; while it was really action packed at the same time it was just like, "WAIT WHAT'S GOING ON WHERE IS MY FOOT?"

    Anywayyyyyy

    Awesome review, Annabelle! I'm glad you loved this one! :) I didn't enjoy it as much as you did, but I can definitely see where our opinions differed!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think you liked this one a bit more than I did. I still rated it 3 Stars but this book had so many obvious plot failures lack of water being the one that definitely left me scratching my head the most. I thought The Ward was a decent debut that showed potential so I'll still be picking up the next one. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. What a fantastic review! I have heard a lot of great things about this book and I really can't wait to get it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't heard much about this book and now I am very interested to read it. I love the way you write your reviews you really cover all the important aspects of a book and I love that.

    ReplyDelete

I love hearing from my readers! All comments are greatly appreciated :) If you're a fellow book blogger, include a link so I can come and visit you! I adore you all so much! <3

Also, anonymous comments have now been disabled since I have been receiving upwards of fifty spam comments a day and I'm just done. If you're an actual human being and not a spambot who happens to comment anonymously I'm really sorry.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Welcome!

Welcome to my young adult reading blog! Sparkles and Lightning has young adult book reviews with the occasional children's or adult's book review sprinkled in. It will also be totally and completely fun :) Have a look around, have some laughs, and most of all, have a perfectly sparkly, electric time!

About Me

My photo
I'm a university student and ballroom dancer who spends too much time curled up with a good book. Red roses are my favorite and I love a good love story.

Grab My Button!

Sparkles and Lightning

My Roses

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Suscribe to Sparkles and Lightning

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Get my Newsletter!

Ask Me Anything!

Blog Tours

Want me to be a part of your blog tour? Contact me and let me know.

Blog Love!

The Midnight Garden I Am A Reader, Not A Writer Irresistible Reads I'm loving ♥ books Some Like It Paranormal Flipping Through the Pages LCs Adventures Reading After Midnight The Fairytale Nerd Alison Can Read The Non Reluctant Reader Novel Sounds ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** Never Ending Stories Book Blog Sweet Southern Home

Want to swap blog rolls? Fill out a form and let me know!

Browse Reviews by Rating

Disclaimer

In accordance with the FTC Guidelines for blogging and endorsements, I am required to state that no payments are received in return for reviews, promotions and endorsements. All books are received at no cost from publishers or purchased by myself. I receive no monetary compensations for anything that appears on Sparkles and Lightning.

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected Creative Commons License