Translate

Currently Reading

Currently Reading
Oblivion by Kelly Creagh

Covermance!

Covermance!
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Trailers

Favorite Books

Release
Elixir
Deity
Shade
Greta and the Goblin King
The Innocents
Stalk me.
Poison Princess
The Gathering Darkness
Rua
Rise
Luminosity
Prodigy
Legend
Beautiful Redemption
Timeless
Shift
Crewel
Aversion
Exiled

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Annabelle Marie Veronica has read 11 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Support this Blog

The Printed Word

read the printed word!
© 2011-2013 by Annabelle Lovell. All rights reserved. Powered by Blogger.

Member of…

7DSbloggers The Army of TEN v mafia badge Photobucket Join Razorbill! BlogWithIntegrity.com

I'm on Team...

Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare Covenant by Jennifer L. Armentrout Unearthly by Cynthia HandUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi Nightshade by Andrea Cremer The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Wings by Aprilynne Pike Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith Need by Carrie Jones Firelight by Sophie Jordon Matched by Ally Condie Slide by Jill Hathaway Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa

Blogoversary!

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Hit Counter

Giveaways: There are no current giveaways. Please check back soon!
Saturday, April 20, 2013
The Rose Throne
Mette Ivie Harrison
Publisher: Egmont USA
Release Date: May 14, 2013
Source: Publisher
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository
Richly-imagined fantasy romance from the author of Princess and the Hound, a tale of two princesses--one with magic, one with none--who dare seek love in a world where real choice can never be theirs. For fans of Megan Whalen Turner, Catherine Fisher, and Cassandra Clare.
Ailsbet loves nothing more than music; tall and red-haired, she's impatient with the artifice and ceremony of her father's court. Marissa adores the world of her island home and feels she has much to offer when she finally inherits the throne from her wise, good-tempered father. The trouble is that neither princess has the power--or the magic--to rule alone, and if the kingdoms can be united, which princess will end up ruling the joint land? For both, the only goal would seem to be a strategic marriage to a man who can bring his own brand of power to the throne. But will either girl be able to marry for love? And can either of these two princesses, rivals though they have never met, afford to let the other live?



CATCHALL

Honestly, I had no idea what to expect going into this book. I picked it up because the cover was pink and pretty and I'd been craving a fantasy. I barely even skimmed over the blurb. I was as surprised as anyone else when I ended up completely falling in love with it. It is legitimately one of the best fantasy books I've ever read, with easily one of my top five favorite romances. Set in a gorgeous and intriguing world full of people who'll stop at nothing to rise to the top, The Rose Throne absolutely blew me away. It was my first book by Mette, but I guarantee it will not be my last.

THE HEROINES

ISSA
Issa is easily my favorite of our two heroines. She's clever and yet not weak. She's ladylike, and a true princess, but at the same time her courage is strong without being obnoxious. She knows her place but she also isn't afraid to risk everything just to help someone else. Issa has spunk and bravery, and yet she isn't insipid and she doesn't make her decisions without thinking about them. She does what she believes is right but she isn't impulsive. I freely admit that I have a massive girl crush on her.
AILSBET
Honestly, while I adored Issa, I had mixed feelings about Ailsbet. It's much harder to get a read on her character, and it was really difficult to figure out her true personality. I don't think she's an awful person, but she's definitely selfish. I do think she sometimes tries to see what's better for other people but she has so much pride that she has a hard time seeing past it.

THE LOVE INTERESTS

KELLIN
I am actually head over heels for Kellin, so, you know. I completely, utterly adore him. He has that whole strong and silent things going on, but then going further he's actually really sweet even if he doesn't always show it. Oh, and don't let's forget passionate. And sexy. Really, really sexy. He has a righteous heart, but he's not an idiot and he doesn't do things without taking precautions. He rebels against the bad in his own way, and his loyalty runs deep.
UMBER
I don't even know why I'm mentioning Umber, since I never really liked him and he didn't feel that important to me. At first I thought he might be decent, and he really did treat Ailsbet well. But we never really get to see his true intentions clearly, so it's difficult to judge him.

THE PLOT

From page one, I was instantly drawn into the world of The Rose Throne. Prophecies are always exciting, and I loved the way this one played out. I was really invested in seeing where it would go and I literally could not put this book down. I began reading it on a whim, but it soon turned out that this book had me wrapped around its…pages.

I loved how everything fit together. Issa wants to please her father, so she goes along with the idea of a loveless marriage to a much younger prince. There, she meets Ailsbet, the princess who is hiding her owns secrets. I loved getting the POV of both girls. Each one is hiding something, so it was interesting to see their struggles alone and yes, together.


I really enjoyed the fantasy elements too. In this world, women have magic of life, or neweyr, while men have magic of battle and death, taweyr. Of course, sometimes there are people born with no magic or people born with the "wrong" magic, which is a really interesting side plot that helped me in falling for Kellin. But, I really like the way the magic was employed. It's not necessarily central, but it's definitely important.


My main complaint is that when I later went back and looked over the blurb it is kind of misleading. Not so misleading that it destroys the whole book, but there are some noticeable things that just didn't match up. Still, I didn't think it was a huge deal.


So, yeah, I loved this. I really, really loved it. It is easily one of my top favorites of all time and maybe the best book I've read this year or at least way, way up there. I enjoyed this book so much I just want to cuddle with it.


THE ROMANCE

Issa and Kellin are easily one of my top five favorite fictional couples ever, and that is a hard list to get on because it involves kicking someone off. But they did it. I absolutely, completely adore them together. They had chemistry from the very beginning, and for a while I worried it wouldn't go anywhere, especially as there were distractions. There's a sort of burning intensity between them that I love and though it isn't easy, love rarely is. I love the way they tease each other and yet take care of each other, and how they can't stay apart even when they try to.

THE WRITING

I adore the writing in this book. I am in love with it. Both girls have distinct, clear voices, and even though their thoughts aren't always completely clear, they're still understandable. The word choice is gorgeous and uncomplicated. I love the way things are explained without being pushy, and though I wish there had been more descriptor language it was still so, so wonderful. Everything really flows and connects.

THE ENDING

The ending has the hint of a resolution and what is going to happen next, but it still leaves room for more story to be told. There's definitely something of an HEA, though, at the same time, which I really liked and helped cement my deep love for this book. I'd love more, but the ending was still written in such a way that even if there isn't more, I can feel like the story came far enough along and was resolved satisfactorily.

WRAPUP

The Rose Throne is currently a standalone, but Mette has two ideas for sequels drafted, which I would be hugely open to. Normally I'd appreciate that it's a standalone but in this case I'm dying for more so desperately that I really hope there's more. The ending was awesome but I still want more. I loved every bit of this. It's a seriously beautiful book and maybe the best thing I've read this year. Would I recommend this book? Duh. If you're a fantasy lover like me, don't think twice. Even if you're normally not huge on fantasy, please consider this one. It is really on its own level of amazingness.




*****FINAL RATING: 4.90 RED ROSES*****

Lovelovelove,



5 comments:

  1. i have never heard of it but tnx 4 the review annabelle . going on my wishlist

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ah! I'm glad to hear this is a good one. I snapped it up on NetGalley from the cover alone, but haven't had a chance to start it yet. Sounds like I should move it up the pile!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Been seeing this book quite a while, and by your review The Rose Throne sounds so awesome! I'm not really into books that has magic etc. so this one still is a "maybe" for me. But I'm glad to hear that you liked the characters.

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

    ReplyDelete
  4. The book does sound interesting. I will defiantly pic it up at some point.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is defiantly going on TBR List thanks for the great review!!!

    ReplyDelete

I love hearing from my readers! All comments are greatly appreciated :) If you're a fellow book blogger, include a link so I can come and visit you! I adore you all so much! <3

Also, anonymous comments have now been disabled since I have been receiving upwards of fifty spam comments a day and I'm just done. If you're an actual human being and not a spambot who happens to comment anonymously I'm really sorry.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Welcome!

Welcome to my young adult reading blog! Sparkles and Lightning has young adult book reviews with the occasional children's or adult's book review sprinkled in. It will also be totally and completely fun :) Have a look around, have some laughs, and most of all, have a perfectly sparkly, electric time!

About Me

My photo
I'm a university student and ballroom dancer who spends too much time curled up with a good book. Red roses are my favorite and I love a good love story.

Grab My Button!

Sparkles and Lightning

My Roses

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Suscribe to Sparkles and Lightning

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Get my Newsletter!

Ask Me Anything!

Blog Tours

Want me to be a part of your blog tour? Contact me and let me know.

Blog Love!

The Midnight Garden I Am A Reader, Not A Writer Irresistible Reads I'm loving ♥ books Some Like It Paranormal Flipping Through the Pages LCs Adventures Reading After Midnight The Fairytale Nerd Alison Can Read The Non Reluctant Reader Novel Sounds ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** Never Ending Stories Book Blog Sweet Southern Home

Want to swap blog rolls? Fill out a form and let me know!

Browse Reviews by Rating

Disclaimer

In accordance with the FTC Guidelines for blogging and endorsements, I am required to state that no payments are received in return for reviews, promotions and endorsements. All books are received at no cost from publishers or purchased by myself. I receive no monetary compensations for anything that appears on Sparkles and Lightning.

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected Creative Commons License