Translate

Currently Reading

Currently Reading
Oblivion by Kelly Creagh

Covermance!

Covermance!
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Trailers

Favorite Books

Release
Elixir
Deity
Shade
Greta and the Goblin King
The Innocents
Stalk me.
Poison Princess
The Gathering Darkness
Rua
Rise
Luminosity
Prodigy
Legend
Beautiful Redemption
Timeless
Shift
Crewel
Aversion
Exiled

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Annabelle Marie Veronica has read 11 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Support this Blog

The Printed Word

read the printed word!
© 2011-2013 by Annabelle Lovell. All rights reserved. Powered by Blogger.

Member of…

7DSbloggers The Army of TEN v mafia badge Photobucket Join Razorbill! BlogWithIntegrity.com

I'm on Team...

Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare Covenant by Jennifer L. Armentrout Unearthly by Cynthia HandUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi Nightshade by Andrea Cremer The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Wings by Aprilynne Pike Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith Need by Carrie Jones Firelight by Sophie Jordon Matched by Ally Condie Slide by Jill Hathaway Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa

Blogoversary!

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Hit Counter

Giveaways: There are no current giveaways. Please check back soon!
Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Mystic City (Mystic City, #1)
Theo Lawrence
Publisher: Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers
Release Date: October 9, 2012
Source: Purchased
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository
For fans of Matched, The Hunger Games, X-Men, and Blade Runner comes a tale of a magical city divided, a political rebellion ignited, and a love that was meant to last forever. Book One of the Mystic City Novels.
Aria Rose, youngest scion of one of Mystic City's two ruling rival families, finds herself betrothed to Thomas Foster, the son of her parents' sworn enemies. The union of the two will end the generations-long political feud—and unite all those living in the Aeries, the privileged upper reaches of the city, against the banished mystics who dwell below in the Depths. But Aria doesn't remember falling in love with Thomas; in fact, she wakes one day with huge gaps in her memory. And she can't conceive why her parents would have agreed to unite with the Fosters in the first place. Only when Aria meets Hunter, a gorgeous rebel mystic from the Depths, does she start to have glimmers of recollection—and to understand that he holds the key to unlocking her past. The choices she makes can save or doom the city—including herself.


CATCHALL
So, despite all the mixed reviews I saw this book getting, I was reasonably certain that I'd love it. I was so, so wrong. Obviously I need to stop being shallow and being drawn in by tempting blurbs and shiny, shiny covers that look like tiny pieces of heaven. I even read the first fifty pages in the bookstore and really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, that was pretty much the best part of the book. Unfortunately, it was downhill from there.

THE HEROINE
ARIA
Aria has got to be one of the most irritating heroines in the history of YA. She's constantly doing stupid things even though she knows she shouldn't, and she's possibly one of the densest people ever. She doesn't notice all these obvious clues around her, and when she does she completely misinterprets them. She just doesn't go about things in a smart way at all and she also seems to have split personality, sometimes the perfect daughter and others the daring rebel. No in between. It's really not charming.

THE LOVE INTEREST
HUNTER
I don't hate Hunter, but that's probably because there's nothing to hate. He's a very flat character who lacks substance and there just isn't much to him at all. He's a rebel. He has a ton of secrets. Other than that, he basically just exists. It's fascinating stuff.

THE PLOT
Now, don't get me wrong: I liked Mystic City. However, I also like rainbows and colorful butterflies. "Like" isn't a word I apply a ton of value to. It could have been interesting, but the execution was just embarrassing.

It's so predictable. From almost the very beginning, I could tell you exactly where the story was going. Sure, I didn't get every detail. But the main plot? Way. Too. Predictable. I don't want to know the ending before I even get halfway through the book. It's annoying.

There are lots of "subtle hints" dropped throughout the book that–you guessed it–are in fact not subtle at all. It was a huge disappointment, and I seriously did not understand how anyone could have thought that they weren't glaringly obvious.

Plot holes. Oh my god, plot holes everywhere. And please don't get me started on Aria's stupid decisions. I swear at least half of the book is Hunter saving her from her own idiocy. That's all right to a point but it quickly became old.

The story was, however, entertaining. I'm not a liar, and that's a fact. But that doesn't change the fact that it was still faulty in too many areas to overlook.

THE ROMANCE
The romance in this book depended waaay too much on a past that Aria has no memory of and Hunter never mentions. Then near the end of the novel it suddenly implodes and everything is revealed at once and I just felt totally and utterly confused. You can't just do things like that. It throws people off!

THE WRITING
This is probably what saved the novel from getting a single rating. Theo's writing is actually really gorgeous, and even if Aria's voice was annoying, I cannot deny his talent. His words actually kind of flow off the page, and though his world-building is weak you can see his effort and that he really tried. His descriptions of Manhattan are gorgeous as well, and I really enjoyed the way he used his words.

THE ENDING
Well, see, this really wasn't a surprise at all, though something tells me it was supposed to be. It was also probably supposed to be a cliffhanger, but since I didn't care for this book all that much I found myself really only mildly interested in what was going to happen next. It wasn't an awful ending, but the fact that I'd known what it was for so long really ruined it.

WRAPUP
I will be reading the next book, although I have no idea why. Don't ask. As to would I recommend this? Honestly, no. Some people I know did love this, and I have no doubt that some of you will love it, but it just was not for me.




**FINAL RATING: 2.00 RED ROSES**

Lovelovelove,


5 comments:

  1. Title:
    The Best High Returns on Best Investment

    Content:
    Welcome to Make Money Online with best investment in Hedge fund day trading with high returns on Daily Interest the world best revenue sharing program in which High Yield Investment Program, Best Hyip, Best Investment, Hyip Monitor, Forex Fund, Daily Profit, Monthly Interest, Monthly Profit, Earn Money Online, Money Maker Group, Dream Team Money and like this much more and you can withdraw the amount throw referral commission, eCurrency Invest, LibertyReserve, Alert Pay and SolidTrustPay as well. Get 200% profit within 150 days and the minimum withdraw is only $5 which is on daily basis.
    For More Details click the link below:

    Web Link:
    http://www.whatacash.com

    Display Name: whatacash

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think I liked this one, I don't remember though. It obviously couldn't have been that great if I can't remember anything about it. Lol!! I really thought I did like it though. *goes to check my blog archive* Sorry it didn't do much for you. Awesome review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Cool review. I liked the character Aria, and I agree with you about Hunter.
    -Cali W.

    ReplyDelete
  4. What a wonderful review! And the book sounds absolutely fabulous! This will be put on my "must read" list.Thank you for the review and the tip for this book!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Thanks for the detailed review! I probably won't read this book based on all the negative reviews I've read.

    ReplyDelete

I love hearing from my readers! All comments are greatly appreciated :) If you're a fellow book blogger, include a link so I can come and visit you! I adore you all so much! <3

Also, anonymous comments have now been disabled since I have been receiving upwards of fifty spam comments a day and I'm just done. If you're an actual human being and not a spambot who happens to comment anonymously I'm really sorry.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Welcome!

Welcome to my young adult reading blog! Sparkles and Lightning has young adult book reviews with the occasional children's or adult's book review sprinkled in. It will also be totally and completely fun :) Have a look around, have some laughs, and most of all, have a perfectly sparkly, electric time!

About Me

My photo
I'm a university student and ballroom dancer who spends too much time curled up with a good book. Red roses are my favorite and I love a good love story.

Grab My Button!

Sparkles and Lightning

My Roses

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Suscribe to Sparkles and Lightning

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Get my Newsletter!

Ask Me Anything!

Blog Tours

Want me to be a part of your blog tour? Contact me and let me know.

Blog Love!

The Midnight Garden I Am A Reader, Not A Writer Irresistible Reads I'm loving ♥ books Some Like It Paranormal Flipping Through the Pages LCs Adventures Reading After Midnight The Fairytale Nerd Alison Can Read The Non Reluctant Reader Novel Sounds ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** Never Ending Stories Book Blog Sweet Southern Home

Want to swap blog rolls? Fill out a form and let me know!

Browse Reviews by Rating

Disclaimer

In accordance with the FTC Guidelines for blogging and endorsements, I am required to state that no payments are received in return for reviews, promotions and endorsements. All books are received at no cost from publishers or purchased by myself. I receive no monetary compensations for anything that appears on Sparkles and Lightning.

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected Creative Commons License