Translate

Currently Reading

Currently Reading
Oblivion by Kelly Creagh

Covermance!

Covermance!
Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

Book Trailers

Favorite Books

Release
Elixir
Deity
Shade
Greta and the Goblin King
The Innocents
Stalk me.
Poison Princess
The Gathering Darkness
Rua
Rise
Luminosity
Prodigy
Legend
Beautiful Redemption
Timeless
Shift
Crewel
Aversion
Exiled

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
Annabelle Marie Veronica has read 11 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

Support this Blog

The Printed Word

read the printed word!
© 2011-2013 by Annabelle Lovell. All rights reserved. Powered by Blogger.

Member of…

7DSbloggers The Army of TEN v mafia badge Photobucket Join Razorbill! BlogWithIntegrity.com

I'm on Team...

Iron Fey by Julie Kagawa The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare Covenant by Jennifer L. Armentrout Unearthly by Cynthia HandUnder the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi Nightshade by Andrea Cremer The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins Wings by Aprilynne Pike Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi Shade by Jeri Smith-Ready The Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith Need by Carrie Jones Firelight by Sophie Jordon Matched by Ally Condie Slide by Jill Hathaway Blood of Eden by Julie Kagawa

Blogoversary!

Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Hit Counter

Giveaways: There are no current giveaways. Please check back soon!
Friday, February 15, 2013
Shades of Earth (Across the Universe, #3)
Beth Revis
Publisher: Razorbill
Release Date: January 15, 2013
Source: Publisher
Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | The Book Depository
The final book in the New York Times bestselling trilogy, perfect for fans of Battlestar Galactica and Prometheus!
Amy and Elder have finally left the oppressive walls of the spaceship Godspeed behind. They're ready to start life afresh--to build a home--on Centauri-Earth, the planet that Amy has traveled 25 trillion miles across the universe to experience.
But this new Earth isn't the paradise Amy had been hoping for. There are giant pterodactyl-like birds, purple flowers with mind-numbing toxins, and mysterious, unexplained ruins that hold more secrets than their stone walls first let on. The biggest secret of all? Godspeed's former passengers aren't alone on this planet. And if they're going to stay, they'll have to fight.
Amy and Elder must race to discover who--or what--else is out there if they are to have any hope of saving their struggling colony and building a future together. They will have to look inward to the very core of what makes them human on this, their most harrowing journey yet. Because if the colony collapses? Then everything they have sacrificed--friends, family, life on Earth--will have been for nothing.
FUELED BY LIES.
RULED BY CHAOS.
ALMOST HOME.
❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦❦

CATCHALL
I love a good sci-fi series, especially the wild ones. It's not often we get to experience an entirely new planet, and it was fun to try that in this novel. It's fast-paced, almost a thriller, but doesn't quite reach this level. Even so, it's a major page turner that kept me up late into the night. This last installment was just as brill as the two books that came before. This review kind of makes it sound like I didn't love this book, but believe me, I did.

THE HERO
ELDER
Elder is okay, I guess. Not the best character ever. I like him more than Amy, which isn't actually saying much but still. He tries to be a good leader, but he's a teenager and we are not the best leaders. He tends to doubt himself when he needs to step up, but he also has no idea when to let go. He's an all right character, but he could have used some improving. I don't hate him, but I have no more real love for him. I used to like him more.

THE HEROINE
AMY
I'm not a huge Amy fan. She irritates the living hell out of me. She has these ideals and she's she freaking stubborn and her way is the right way and that is that. And we're supposed to just take that. Guys, Amy is what, seventeen? I sincerely doubt that she holds all the answers to the universe in her hands and that is not okay. She is always, always portrayed as being right in this book and she just really got on my nerves like nothing else.

THE PLOT
The number one thing that bothered me about this book: It was so freaking ridiculously liberal.

Granted, this is a personal issue. and, speaking frankly, I am a teenager and probably have not settled in permanent political views yet. But I was raised as a conservative, and my parents are conservative, and despite the fact that I am liberal in a few select aspects I am still, at this point in my life, mostly a conservative. So, this did affect me. I was so frustrated by all the things that Amy wanted to do and her ideas to govern the colony. However, those are my personal opinions and this might not bother anyone but me.

So, moving on. Shades of Earth is very, very fast-paced, but at other times it kind of drags. The pacing is weirdly off. It's always fast or slow, and kind of frustrating. I couldn't get a grip on it. I loved when it moved quickly. It was always fun to  hear my heartbeat speed up, but that only made it all the more annoying when everything slowed down.

Love the concept, though, and the originality of it. It was fun to explore a new setting. The previous two books took place on the ship, but this one moves away from that. Instead, there's a new planet. New dangers. Unexpected twists. Some things were way too coincidental and unrealistic, but if I let that go and simply enjoyed this for what it was, I had a lot more fun.

All in all, I did love this. It wasn't perfect, but perfection is relative anyway. I truly enjoyed this.

THE ROMANCE
I am not necessarily a huge fan of Amy and Elder's romance. I don't hate it, but it's so goddamn boring. They have no chemistry whatsoever. It's sweet but it lacks substance. I was much more willing to ship Amy with the creepy Chris, who I really didn't like at all, which says a lot. Still, if they want to live a passion-less life together I suppose that's their choice. It felt a lot like a first love thing and just didn't have that extra oomph.

THE WRITING
Beth has gorgeous writing when it comes to description. She describe Centauri-Earth so vividly that it's almost like we're actually there. There's an incredible level of sensory detail. However, I am not a fan of Amy's and Elder's voice. They just come off to me as so immature and irritating. They've improved since the beginning, but they still needed work. They also aren't nearly distinct enough. I understand the dual-POV thing, but if you're going to do that you need to have distinct, separate voices.

THE ENDING
I really think that Shades of Earth reached a wonderful ending. It was far from clean, but it was realistic. There's death and destruction and everything isn't neat. There's going to still be changes that have to be made, and they're going to have to rebuild their lives. But it's not a cliffhanger as much as it simply is an open ending. There's more to come, but for us, the story is over. At least for now. However, I wouldn't object to a novella set in this world in the future.

WRAPUP
Not that the Across the Universe series has come to an end, I absolutely cannot wait to see what Beth spins for us next. I'm sure it'll be full of sparkles and romance, and I'm definitely excited. Whether she moves away from sci-fi or stays within the genre, I have high hopes that I'll love it. For old fans of this series, you need to pick this book up ASAP. If you're new to this series, I highly recommend it even if you're queasy about the sic-fi stuff. It's that good.

fine

***FINAL RATING: 3.30 RED ROSES***
 photo roserating_zps76d2c1ab.png photo roserating_zps76d2c1ab.png photo roserating_zps76d2c1ab.png

Lovelovelove,
 photo annasig_zpsd60c2d3f.png

2 comments:

  1. Great review Annabelle! I'm sorry you didn't enjoy this one much and that it was too liberal for you, but I think you touched on some REALLY great points. Like although Amy and Elder are cute and sweet together, they lack that spark/chemistry.

    I too am curious to see what Beth Revis has for us next. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you, Ashley! :) I'm very happy to hear that.

      Delete

I love hearing from my readers! All comments are greatly appreciated :) If you're a fellow book blogger, include a link so I can come and visit you! I adore you all so much! <3

Also, anonymous comments have now been disabled since I have been receiving upwards of fifty spam comments a day and I'm just done. If you're an actual human being and not a spambot who happens to comment anonymously I'm really sorry.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Welcome!

Welcome to my young adult reading blog! Sparkles and Lightning has young adult book reviews with the occasional children's or adult's book review sprinkled in. It will also be totally and completely fun :) Have a look around, have some laughs, and most of all, have a perfectly sparkly, electric time!

About Me

My photo
I'm a university student and ballroom dancer who spends too much time curled up with a good book. Red roses are my favorite and I love a good love story.

Grab My Button!

Sparkles and Lightning

My Roses

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Suscribe to Sparkles and Lightning

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Get my Newsletter!

Ask Me Anything!

Blog Tours

Want me to be a part of your blog tour? Contact me and let me know.

Blog Love!

The Midnight Garden I Am A Reader, Not A Writer Irresistible Reads I'm loving ♥ books Some Like It Paranormal Flipping Through the Pages LCs Adventures Reading After Midnight The Fairytale Nerd Alison Can Read The Non Reluctant Reader Novel Sounds ***Singing and Reading in the Rain*** Never Ending Stories Book Blog Sweet Southern Home

Want to swap blog rolls? Fill out a form and let me know!

Browse Reviews by Rating

Disclaimer

In accordance with the FTC Guidelines for blogging and endorsements, I am required to state that no payments are received in return for reviews, promotions and endorsements. All books are received at no cost from publishers or purchased by myself. I receive no monetary compensations for anything that appears on Sparkles and Lightning.

Copyright

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected Creative Commons License